Get Involved Organization 2: COAR

February 12, 2009

A nonprofit whose efforts I’ve followed for some time now is COAR (Community Outreach & Advocacy for Refugees), an organization that seeks to assist refugees resettling in the U.S. in becoming self-reliant and comfortable in their new lives and relies largely on volunteers to do so.  COAR started out as a student organization and has ballooned to a dedicated nonprofit.  They work for “awareness and advocacy” of the refugee situation, sponsoring tutoring for refugee students, helping refugees make higher education a reality, and other youth leadership programs.

While, as I said, I was already familiar with this organization and its goals, its new Volunteer Anchor Program just caught my eye and struck me as a highly unique volunteer opportunity.  Volunteer anchors are paired together and work with a recently resettled family of refugees and essentially help them adjust.  This may include anything from helping with homework, job applications, and basic English skills to getting groceries and giving directions.   While these tasks may seem mundane to us, they can be daunting to someone unfamiliar with them.  The stability that would come with refugees’ self-sufficiency and ability to communicate would surely make a significant difference for someone whose life had previously been turned upside-down.

Spring 2009 applications to be an anchor are due February 13 and can be completed online after creating a COAR account.  While I know this is right around the corner, the application is not very extensive and, while it does request references, does not require any supplementary letters of recommendation, transcripts, etc.  If you cannot make this application deadline, it is my understanding that another round of applications will be accepted soon.

After being accepted, volunteer anchors will attend an orientation and be placed with a family soon after.  Volunteer anchors should be familiar with their schedule before coming to orientation as they will need to be prepared to sign up for a time slot to meet the family with whom they will be working.  At this initial meeting, a translator will be present in addition to COAR/resettlement agency representatives who will help make the introduction smooth.

Contact Wendy Zupac at wzupac@coarweb.org with any questions about the program.

Email admin@coarweb.org with any technical problems using the COAR site.

22 Responses to “Get Involved Organization 2: COAR”


  1. You can definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say
    how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  2. pedicure Says:

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a information!

    existing here at this web site, thanks admin of
    this site.


  3. Thanks in favor of sharing such a nice idea, paragraph is good, thats why i have read it
    fully

  4. Clinton Says:

    Definitely imagine that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be at the web the easiest factor to take
    into accout of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed at the same time as other
    folks think about worries that they plainly don’t understand about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , other people
    can take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thanks


  5. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find
    It truly useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to give one
    thing back and aid others like you aided me.

  6. Doyle Says:

    Readable words you have there lovely. I came across something similiar to your
    writings. Thats also your projects maybe?
    You can examine if here, I am uncertain if it’s yours tho.


  7. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed
    reading it, you will be a great author.I will
    be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the
    future. I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have
    a nice weekend!


  8. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest
    authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.


  9. Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this website to get hottest updates, thus where can i
    do it please assist.


  10. Hello Dear, are you actually visiting this website on a regular basis, if so after that you will
    without doubt take pleasant experience.


  11. Usually I don’t learn article on blogs, but I would like
    to say that this write-up very pressured me to
    check out and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me.
    Thank you, quite nice article.


  12. hi!,I like your writing very a lot! percentage we communicate more approximately your post on AOL?
    I require an expert on this space to solve my problem.
    Maybe that is you! Having a look ahead to see you.


  13. Awesome site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew
    of any forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feed-back from other
    experienced individuals that share the same interest.

    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

  14. wkręty Says:

    This article presents clear idea in support of the new people
    of blogging, that in fact how to do running
    a blog.


  15. Hi there Dear, are you actually visiting this website on a regular
    basis, if so afterward you will without doubt take nice know-how.


  16. Article writing is also a fun, if you know then you can write otherwise it is complex to write.


  17. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity to your post is just great and i could think you are a professional on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to keep updated
    with forthcoming post. Thank you a million and please carry on the rewarding work.


  18. Remarkable! Its in fact remarkable post, I have got much clear idea
    on the topic of from this paragraph.


  19. わきが対策に顕著な効果を見せるということで流行中のクリアネオは、無添加・無香料がウリのひとつでもあるので、肌がセンシティブな人であっても利用することが可能ですし、返金保証制度ありなので、迷わずに注文できるのではないでしょうか?

  20. Keith Says:

    Los beneficios del consumo de Pure Cambogia Ultra son los que se derivan de las tres acciones mencionadas previamente. http://www.exodustowny.fluctis.com/profile.php?id=8927


  21. A skinny Jean, it’s the look that suits the widest range
    of body types and everyday use. http://www.Odccn.com/userinfo.php?uid=829046

  22. arvideotech Says:

    Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article.
    Many thanks for supplying these details.

Leave a Reply

